Automaattinen luonnos

Lue meidät | Kuuntele meitä | Katso meitä | Liity Live-tapahtumat | Poista mainokset käytöstä | Elää |

Napsauta kieltäsi kääntääksesi tämän artikkelin:

Afrikaans Afrikaans Albanian Albanian Amharic Amharic Arabic Arabic Armenian Armenian Azerbaijani Azerbaijani Basque Basque Belarusian Belarusian Bengali Bengali Bosnian Bosnian Bulgarian Bulgarian Catalan Catalan Cebuano Cebuano Chichewa Chichewa Chinese (Simplified) Chinese (Simplified) Chinese (Traditional) Chinese (Traditional) Corsican Corsican Croatian Croatian Czech Czech Danish Danish Dutch Dutch English English Esperanto Esperanto Estonian Estonian Filipino Filipino Finnish Finnish French French Frisian Frisian Galician Galician Georgian Georgian German German Greek Greek Gujarati Gujarati Haitian Creole Haitian Creole Hausa Hausa Hawaiian Hawaiian Hebrew Hebrew Hindi Hindi Hmong Hmong Hungarian Hungarian Icelandic Icelandic Igbo Igbo Indonesian Indonesian Irish Irish Italian Italian Japanese Japanese Javanese Javanese Kannada Kannada Kazakh Kazakh Khmer Khmer Korean Korean Kurdish (Kurmanji) Kurdish (Kurmanji) Kyrgyz Kyrgyz Lao Lao Latin Latin Latvian Latvian Lithuanian Lithuanian Luxembourgish Luxembourgish Macedonian Macedonian Malagasy Malagasy Malay Malay Malayalam Malayalam Maltese Maltese Maori Maori Marathi Marathi Mongolian Mongolian Myanmar (Burmese) Myanmar (Burmese) Nepali Nepali Norwegian Norwegian Pashto Pashto Persian Persian Polish Polish Portuguese Portuguese Punjabi Punjabi Romanian Romanian Russian Russian Samoan Samoan Scottish Gaelic Scottish Gaelic Serbian Serbian Sesotho Sesotho Shona Shona Sindhi Sindhi Sinhala Sinhala Slovak Slovak Slovenian Slovenian Somali Somali Spanish Spanish Sudanese Sudanese Swahili Swahili Swedish Swedish Tajik Tajik Tamil Tamil Telugu Telugu Thai Thai Turkish Turkish Ukrainian Ukrainian Urdu Urdu Uzbek Uzbek Vietnamese Vietnamese Welsh Welsh Xhosa Xhosa Yiddish Yiddish Yoruba Yoruba Zulu Zulu

Yhdysvaltain matkailuliiton hallitus saa uusia jäseniä

Kirjoittanut toimittaja

Camille Fergusson, the executive director of the American Indian Alaska Native Tourism Association (AIANTA) has been elected to the U.S. Travel Association’s Board of Directors as an At-Large Director, the association announced on Thursday.

Ferguson, a citizen of the Sitka Tribe of Alaska and a member of the Kiksadi Clan, has been executive director of the American Indian Alaska Native Tourism Association (AIANTA) for six years. Only the second-ever Native American to serve on the U.S. Travel board, her three-year period will run through 2021. During her term, she plans to augment her work with elected officials in advocating for the importance of including tribal tourism in the national tourism message.

“Tourism to Native American communities supports economic and social stability, especially in remote and rural communities, which in turn contributes to the overall health of the U.S. economy,” said Ferguson, who introduced AIANTA’s “Our Voices, Our Stories” campaign, which emphasizes the importance of tribal entities taking control of their own tourism messaging to provide greater authenticity and sustainability in a rapidly growing inventory of cultural tourism offerings. Under her leadership, AIANTA received national recognition when it was presented the President’s “E” Award for Exports of tribal tourism.

Joining Ferguson as a first-time, at-large director is Deb Hickok, president and CEO of Explore Fairbanks. A destination marketing and management professional for nearly 37 years, Hickok became CEO of Explore Fairbanks in 1999. Under her guidance, Explore Fairbanks has received numerous awards, including the Governor of Alaska’s Exporter of the Year Award and the Destiny Award from the U.S. Travel Destinations Council. She currently serves on two other boards of directors, the Alaska Travel Industry Association (ATIA) which she chaired in 2011 and the Greater Fairbanks Chamber of Commerce.

Ferguson also joins another Ferguson, Elliot L. Ferguson, II, president and CEO of Destination DC, who was elected as the new national chairman of the board.

“I look forward to working with Elliott,” said AIANTA’s executive director. “He has a deservedly well-respected reputation for driving awareness of the cultural offerings of a city more commonly known for its political inner-workings. I believe his leadership will further help drive attention to the importance of including Native American, Native Alaskan and Native Hawaiian stories and issues in the national tourism agenda.”

On Thursday, the U.S. Travel membership also installed other officer positions: first vice chair Christine Duffy, president of Carnival Cruise Line; second vice chair Michael Dominguez, senior vice president and chief sales officer of MGM Resorts International; treasurer Joseph W. Lopano, chief executive officer of Tampa International Airport; and decretary Casandra Matej, president and CEO of Visit San Antonio.

Joining Ferguson and Hickok as first-term, at-large directors are: Margot Amelia, senior vice president, chief marketing officer, National Aquarium in Baltimore; Candace Carr Strauss, CEO, Visit Big Sky/Big Sky Chamber of Commerce; Chris Fogg, CEO, Maine Tourism Association; Abigail James, group vice president, Marketing Strategy, Macy’s, Inc.; Cristy Morrison, president & CEO, Visit Stillwater; John Percy, president & CEO, Destination Niagara USA; Richard Peterson, president & CEO, U.S. Cultural & Heritage Tourism Marketing Council; Milton Segarra, executive director, Visit Mississippi Gulf Coast; Douglas Small, president & CEO, Experience Grand Rapids; Monica Smith, president & CEO, Southeast Tourism Society; and Paula Vlamings, chief impact officer, Tourism Cares

Returning to the board are: Kate Birchler, assistant vice president, tourism narketing, Macerich Shopping Centers; Liz Bittner, president & CEO, Travel South USA; Gerrit De Vos, vice president, business development, AmericanTours International; and Gary Schluter, founder, Rocky Mountain Holiday Tours